God’s Good Word: Psalm 119:9-16

This passage out of psalms written by the psalmist under inspiration of the Holy Spirit and preserved for our edification by God the Father gives a clear picture of the heart of a saint, a redeemed believer in the Lord Jesus Christ.

9 How can a young man cleanse his way?  By taking heed according to Your word.  10 With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!  11 Your word I have hidden in my heart, That I might not sin against You.  12 Bless are You, O Lord!  Teach me Your statutes.  13 With my lips I have declared All the judgments of Your mouth.  14 I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, As much as in all riches.  15 I will meditate on Your precepts, And contemplate Your ways.  16 I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.  Psalm 119:9-16

The children of God delight in His Word, not the word of fallen man.  This is a distinguishing characteristic between those who love the Lord Jesus Christ and those who feign allegiance to Him, believers in Jesus Christ hold fast to His Word, the Bible, while unbelievers who populate the world of religion not only forget and disparage His Word.  Therefore, the religiously dead will always gather around themselves teachers to say what their fickle fallen fancies desire, while the redeemed of the Lord Jesus Christ will glory and exult in Him and follow His lead, leaning lovingly upon His Word the Bible.  In His prayer to His Father preserved providentially in John 17, Christ demonstrates that those who love Him and the Father receive and keep the words given to Christ by His Heavenly Father.

6 “I have manifested Your name to the men whom You have given Me out of the world.  They were Yours, You gave them to Me, and they have kept Your word.  7 Now they have known that all things which You have given Me are from You.  8 For I have given them the words which You have given Me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came forth from You; and they have believed that You sent Me….14 I have given them Your word: and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.  15 I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one.  16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.  17 Sanctify them by the truth.  Your word is truth.  18 As You sent me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.  19 And for their sakes I sanctify them by the truth.  20 I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word;  John 17:6-8& 14-20

The disciples who became Christ’s apostles were specifically chosen for Him by the Father from the world.  They proved they were Jesus Christ’s by receiving and keeping God’s Word.  In the same way, if we believe in Jesus Christ through the testimony preserved for us in God’s Holy inspired, infallible, inerrant Word, then we are also His.  We are those who believe in Him because of the testimony given to us in the Scriptures, and we have fellowship with Him through the ministry of His Holy Spirit in our hearts and our minds.  All others are outside the purview of Christ’s merciful graciousness and are members of the lost world bound for eternal damnation in the lake of fire that eternally burns.  Unredeemed humanity hates God’s Word and rejects Christ Jesus as revealed to us in the Scriptures.  They prefer a god of their own making who does as they desire and fulfills the sinful desires of their fallen flesh.  There are so many false teachers who are making bucket loads of mammon through catering to the sinful desires of the religious world.  God’s children reveal themselves through their faith in Jesus Christ, adherence to His Word, love for the brethren and godly contrite prayers before their holy and glorious God in heaven.  Let us hold fast God’s truth and turn away from every lie of the enemy of our souls who rules this fallen world system.

1 To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.  2 O my God, I trust in You; Let me not be ashamed; Let not my enemies triumph over me.  3 Indeed, let no one who waits on You be ashamed; Let those be ashamed who deal treacherously without cause.  4 Show me Your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths.  5 Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day.  6 Remember, O Lord, Your tender mercies and Your lovingkindnesses, For they are from old.  7 Do not remember the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions; According to Your mercy remember me, For Your goodness’ sake, O Lord.  8 Good and upright is the Lord; Therefore He teaches sinners in the way.  9 The humble He guides in justice, And the humble He teaches His way.  10 All the path of the Lord are mercy and truth, To such as keep His covenant and His testimonies.  11 For Your name’s sake, O Lord, Pardon my iniquity, for it is great.  12 Who is the man who fears the Lord?  Him shall He teach in the way He chooses.  Psalm 25:1-12

Lord Jesus Christ, we are supremely dependent and reliant upon You, and You alone.  Lead us in Your way everlasting.  Amen!

This entry was posted in God's Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s Good Word: Psalm 119:9-16

  1. Kristi Ann says:

    Amen Sister in Christ Jesus-Yeshua!! Goodnight my Family and Friends!!

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom Everyone,

    Kristi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

