The True Christ

Jesus Christ warned us in the gospels that there would be many false christs who would come and try to deceive us before the end of the age.

4 And Jesus answered and said to them:  “Take heed that no one deceives you.  5 For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will deceive many.”  Matthew 24:4-5

24 “For false christs and false prophets will rise and show great signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect.  25 See, I have told you beforehand.”  Matthew 24:24

5 And Jesus, answering them, began to say:  “Take heed that no one deceives you. 6 For many will come in My name, saying ‘I am He,’ and will deceive many”.  Mark 13:5-6

22 “For false christs and false prophets will rise and show signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect.  23 But take heed; see, I have told you all things beforehand.”  Mark 13:22-23

 8 And He said:  “Take heed that you not be deceived.  For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am He,’ and, ‘The time has drawn near.’  Therefore do not go after them.”  Luke 21:8

Jesus Christ warned us about the false christs beforehand so we can spot them and reject them.  The most powerful and purposeful way of recognizing false christs is to know the true Christ so well, that we cannot be deceived by the false.  I want to share the passages from God’s Word that enable us to recognize Jesus Christ as the true Christ and then reject all others as the false.

First and foremost Jesus Christ is God, the Son of God, and is therefore the only One who can reveal the Father to us.  False christs will speak of the Father, but they are really declaring their true father, the father of lies, Satan as their god.  These false christs come to deceive, plunder and deprive all of true life.

27 “All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father.  Nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and the one to whom the Son wills to reveal Him.  28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  30 For My yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:26-30

18 No one has seen God at any time.  The only begotten Son, who is in the bosom of the Father, He has declared Him.  John 1:18

9 Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip?  He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?  10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me?  The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works.  11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.”  John 14:9-11

Jesus Christ, as God’s Son, had the approval and approbation of His Father.  He gave His seal of approval to His Son both verbally and by giving Him the Holy Spirit without measure.

16 When He had been baptized, Jesus came up immediately from the water; and behold, the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting upon Him.  17 And suddenly a voice came from heaven saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”  Matthew 3:16-17

34 “For He whom God has sent speaks the words of God, for God does not give the Spirit by measure.”  John 3:34

27 “Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the Father has set His seal upon Him.”  John 6:27

33 Then it happened, as they were parting from Him, that Peter said to Jesus, “Master, it is good for us to be here; and let us make three tabernacles; one for You, one for Moses, and one for Elijah”—not knowing what he said.  34 While he was saying this, a cloud came and overshadowed them; and they were fearful as they entered the cloud.  35 And a voice came out of the cloud, saying, “This is my beloved Son.  Hear Him!”  Luke 9:33-35

28 “Father, glorify Your name.”  Then a voice came from heaven, saying, “I have both glorified it and will glorify it again.”  John 12:28

17 For He received from God the Father honor and glory when such a voice came to Him from the Excellent Glory:  “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”  18 And we heard this voice which came from heaven when we were with Him on the holy mountain.  2 Peter 1:17-18

Jesus Christ, God’s Son, was sent by the Father, all others who claim to be christ are imposters and deceivers.  Numerous Scriptures declare that Jesus Christ the Son of God was sent to this earth by His Father.  False christs are sent by their father, the devil.

37 “He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me.  And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me.  38 And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me.  39 He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.  40 He who receives you receives Me, and he who receives Me receives Him who sent Me.”  Matthew 10:37-40 

16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.  17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.”  John 3:16-17

36 “But I have a greater witness than John’s; for the works which the Father has given Me to finish—the very works that I do—bear witness of Me, that the Father has sent Me.”  John 5:36

29 Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He sent.”  John 6:29

28 Then Jesus cried out, as He taught in the temple, saying, “You both know Me, and you know where I am from; and I have not come of Myself, but He who sent Me is true, whom you do not know.  29 But I know Him, for I am from Him and He sent Me.”  John 7:28-29

12 Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world.  He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”  13 The Pharisees therefore said to Him, “You bear witness of Yourself; Your witness is not true.”  14 Jesus answered and said to them, “Even if I bear witness of Myself, My witness is true, for I know where I am going; but you do not know where I come from and where I am going.  15 You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one.  16 And yet if I judge, My judgment is true; for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent Me.  17 It is also written in your law that the testimony of two men is true.  18 I am One who bears witness of Myself, and the Father who sent Me bears witness of Me.”  John 8:12-18

41 “You do the deeds of your father.”  Then they said to Him, “We were not born of fornication; we have one Father—God.”  42 Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me.”  John 8:41-42

Jesus Christ, the Son of God, was sent by the Father so that all who receive Him are received by the Father.  All others who claim to be the christ have come of their own accord and are doing the work of their father, the devil.  Jesus is the Christ because He is the Son of God sent by the Father to finish the works the Father gave Him to do.  No one else can make this claim.

19 Then Jesus answered and said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner.  20 For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things the He Himself does; and He will show Him greater works than these, that you may marvel.”  John 5:19-20

26 “ For as the Father has life in Himself, so He has granted the Son to have life in Himself, 27 and has given Him authority to execute judgment also, because He is the Son of Man.  28 Do not marvel at this; for the hour is coming in which all who are in the graves will hear His voice 29 and come forth—those who have done good, to the resurrection of the life, and those who have done evil, to the resurrection of condemnation.”  John 5:26-29

25 Jesus answered them, “I told you, and you do not believe.  The works that I do in My Father’s name, the bear witness of Me.”  John 10:25

32 Jesus answered them, “Many good works have I shown you from my Father.  For which of those works do you stone me?”  33 The Jews answered Him, saying, “For a good work we do not stone You, but for blasphemy, and because that You, being a Man, make Yourself God.”  34 Jesus answered them,  “Is it not written in your law, ‘I said, “You are gods”’?  35 “If He called them gods, to whom the word of God came (and the Scripture cannot be broken), 36 do you say of Him whom the Father sanctified and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming’ because I said,’ I am the Son of God’?  37 If I do not do the works of my Father, do not believe Me; 38 but if I do, though you do not believe Me, believe the works, that you may know and believe that the Father is in Me, and I in Him.”  John 10:32-38

4 “I have glorified You on the earth.  I have finished the work which You have given Me to do.”  John 17:4

Finally, all that Jesus said came directly from the Father.  He spoke the very words of God and those words are the words of eternal life.  False christs spread the lies and deceit of Satan so that all who listen to them are guaranteed eternal damnation in fiery hell without abatement.

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  2 He was in the beginning with God.  John 1:1-2

14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.  John 1:14

24 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment; but has passed from death into life.”  John 5:24

38 “But you do not have His word abiding in you, because whom He sent, Him you do not believe. 39 You search the Scriptures; for in them you think you have eternal life; and these are they which testify of Me.  40 But you are not willing to come to Me that you may have life.”  John 5:38-40

37 “I know that you are Abraham’s descendants,  but you seek to kill Me, because My word has no place in you. 38 I speak what I have seen with my Father: and you do what you have seen with your father.”  John 8:37-38

23 Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word: and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.  24 He who does not love Me does not keep my words; and the word which you hear is not Mine but the Father’s who sent Me. 25 These things I have spoken to you while being present with you. 26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.”  John 14:23-26

14 “I have given them Your word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.  15 I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. Sanctify them through Your truth.”  Your word is truth.  John 17:14-17

68 But Simon Peter answered Him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.  69 Also we have come to believe and know that You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”  John 6:68-69

Jesus Christ the Son of God, was sent by the Father to disclose His grace, mercy, and love to us by speaking His words and doing His work.  The work of the Son on behalf of the Father was to suffer and die in our stead taking the punishment for our sinful, willful transgressions against God.  Jesus Christ rose again from the dead victorious over sin, death and the devil and gives justification and eternal life to all who repent of their sin and put their faith in Him.  Anyone who claims to be christ is false, because He has already come and we have the testimony of Him in the Word of God.  Anyone who preaches a christ who is not the One sent from the Father is testifying to a false christ who cannot save.   Belief in a false christ condemns the disciple to eternal damnation in fiery hell.

9 If we receive the witness of men, the witness of God is greater; for this is the witness of God which He has testified of His Son.  10 He who believes in the Son of God has the witness in himself; he who does not believe God has made Him a liar, because he has not believed the testimony that God has given of His Son.  11 And this is the testimony:  that God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son.  12 He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.  13 These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.  1 John 5:9-13

20 And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us an understanding, that we may know Him who is true; and we are in Him who is true, in His Son Jesus Christ.  This is the true God and eternal life.  21 Little children, keep yourselves from idols.  Amen.  1 John 5:20-21

This entry was posted in Jesus Christ, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The True Christ

Leave a Reply

