The Teacher

I am working on reading the Bible through for the ninth or tenth time.  Why would I do this?  Let me share some verses with you.

97 Oh, how I love Your law!  It is my meditation all the day.  98 You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; For they are ever with me.  99 I have more understanding than all my teachers, For Your testimonies are my meditation.  100 I understand more than the ancients, Because I keep you precepts.  101 I have restrained my feet from every evil way, That I may keep Your Word.  102 I have not departed from Your judgments, For You Yourself have taught me.  103 How sweet are Your words to my taste, Sweeter than honey to my mouth!  104 Through Your precepts I get understanding; Therefore I hate every false way.  Psalm 119:97-104

When God is our Teacher He will give us a sincere love for His Word, and a fervent hatred of evil and falsehood.

Contrast this with what occurs when we turn to the vain teachings of man.  There are a couple of key passages in Isaiah that show the awfulness of what befalls those who reject the Word of God.

16 Bind up the testimony, Seal the law among my disciples. 17  And I will wait on the Lord, Who hides His face from the house of Jacob; And I will hope in Him.  18 Here am I and the children whom the Lord has given me!  We are for signs and wonder in Israel From the Lord of hosts, Who dwells in Mount Zion.  19 And when they say to you, “Seek those who are mediums and wizards, who whisper and mutter,” should not a people seek their God?  Should they seek the dead on behalf of the living?  20 To the law and to the testimony!  If they do not speak according to this word, it is because there is no light in them.  21 They will pass through it hard-pressed and hungry; and it shall happen, when they are hungry, that they will be enraged and curse their king and their God, and look upward.  22 Then they will look to the earth, and see trouble and darkness, gloom of anguish; and they will be driven into darkness.  Isaiah 8:16-22

In this passage it is made clear that the Word of God is revealed to His children.  Additionally, those who seek wisdom elsewhere have no light in them and are doomed to darkness.  In Isaiah chapter 29, we again see God’s judgment upon those who reject His Word and replace it with the word of man.

11 The whole vision has become to you like the words of a book that is sealed, which men deliver to one who is literate, saying, “Read this, please.”  And he says, “I cannot for it is sealed.”  12 Then the book is delivered to one who is illiterate saying, “Read this, please.”  And he says, “I am not literate.”   13 Therefore the Lord said:  “Inasmuch as these people draw near with their mouths and honor Me with their lips, But have removed their hearts far from Me, and their fear toward Me is taught by the commandment of men, 14 Therefore, behold, I will again do a marvelous work and a wonder; For the wisdom of their wise men shall perish and the understanding of their prudent men shall be hidden.”  Isaiah 29:11-14  

Going to man for wisdom blinds our eyes to the truth of the Word of God and produces false converts who in vain feign worship to the Holy God of all creation and to whom the Word of God is as a sealed book.

Those who are taught of God, on the other hand, are brought to Jesus Christ for salvation.  We see the blessing of those who have been taught by God from His Holy Word as we read from  John chapter six.

44 “No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up at the last day.  45 It is written in the prophets, ‘And they shall all be taught by God.’  Therefore everyone who has heard and learned from the Father comes to Me.  46 “Not that anyone has seen the Father, except He who is from God; He has seen the Father.  47 Most assuredly, I say to you , he who believes in Me has everlasting life.”  John 6:44-47 

When we are taught from the Word of God by the Lord God Almighty we learn the truth regarding sin, judgment, and the Savior’s salvation for all who believe.  The Lord God uses the truth to bring us to Christ.  As believers we can continually resort to His Word to teach us all things, and we do not have to rely on vain and idle babblings from the unregenerate.  We have the Holy Spirit abiding in us Who teaches us the truth from the Word of God and we have the anointing from Jesus Christ Who opens our minds and teaches us so we understand Scripture.

20 But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all things.  21 I have not written to you because you do not know the truth, but because you know it, and that no lie is of the truth.  22 Who is a liar but he who denies that Jesus is the Christ?  He is antichrist who denies the Father and the Son.  23 Whoever denies the Son does not have the Father either; he who acknowledges the Son has the Father also.  24 Therefore let that abide in you which you heard from the beginning.  If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, you also will abide in the Son and in the Father.  25 And this is the promise that He has promised us-eternal life.  26 These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you.  27 But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him1 John 2:20-27 

Let us turn away from what the modern church has to offer through books and radio and television programs and let us return to the old paths, to God’s Holy, inspired, infallible, inerrant Word.

Thus says the Lord:  “Stand in the ways and see, And ask for the old paths, where the good way is, And walk in it; Then you will find rest for your souls.  Jeremiah 6:16  

This entry was posted in God's Word Revealed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

